Craft Room through the decade. Craft room/office tour part 2

Hello again!
I know!  Two posts in a row? I can’t believe it either. So as the title states, this is part 2 of my craft room/office tour series. This is the new room. It used to be a “formal” living room, or a parlor as it used to be called when this house was first built around 1920, for all of you history buffs.

We were lucky to have moved in after the old owner re-modeled the inside. So we have drywall (not plaster), new electrical, etc. Wanting to put our stamp on the house, we have made many changes and updates since we moved in, but this room is my absolute favorite. I share it with my husband and kitty. All 3 of us spend most of our indoor time here.

This room is about 20 feet long by 15 feet wide (6 meters by 4.5 meters). My craft area is about an 8 foot by 15 foot (2.4 meters by 4.5 meters) section. So plenty of room for all of my goodies! My plan is to have all my craft stuff stored in this section only, though let’s be real; we have a “Harry Potter” closet (under the stairs :), and some of my less used items may end up there.

Here you can see the living room when we first moved into the house:

North wall at move in

Here is the same wall right before we turned it into our new craft room/office (due to poor planning on my part, this picture was taken at night-sorry about the bad lighting):

North wall before move

And finally, the same wall after we painted and moved furniture:

During part 2 of the video tour I did end up editing out all of the drawer contents;  (I had a bad camera angle most of the time.  I was taping it myself and was a bit crowded) but I do have before photos and will go through the drawers one by one in video 3, so stay tuned!

North wall after (1)

Here are a few more before and after photos of my desk area and dining room.  Since the two rooms are open to each other, we decided to paint them the same color, Glidden Granite Gray.

desk area beforeoffice and dining room after paintdining room before paint

 

 

hubby and kitty area

 

Here are a few more details about some of the items you see, if you want to know more leave me a comment!

The rugs are from AT Home, a discount home furnishing and accessories store here in the USA.  The dining room table was purchased at an antique sale, but it is all new wood made to look like a farmhouse table.  The dining chairs were purchased at a local store where the owner refurnishes old pieces.  My desk and wall/file cabinet is by Hooker Furniture.  The bottle picture is from Meijer.  I did not go through the desk in this tour video, will show it in part 3, after everything is arranged and organized.

I hope this post and video gives you some ideas you can use for your craft area or office.  Before I thought “outside the box” I considered having our old office remodeled to make it bigger and more functional.  It occurred to me after a year or so that our little used living room would be a great office and craft area.  Most of the hard work involved was the actual moving of all the furniture.  We accomplished this in one day by ourselves with only a few nicks on the walls 🙂  We could have made this super cheap by just painting and re-using all of our old items.  So if you are dreaming of a bigger space and have an extra room or area in your house, I say go for it!!  With some creativity and planning you can make it exactly what you need.

Thank you so much for staying with this long post and hope you have a great crafty day!  Visit me on Instagram for more pictures of my room, card and kitty!!

Here are some links to some of the products mentioned and shown in the video and pictures:

Ikea 2 drawer nightstand:  http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/20242625/

Ikea desk lights: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/30355725/

spinning desk organizer (similar item):  http://www.michaels.com/recollections-storage-desktop-carousel/10442456.html?mkwid=smFhhTl0Z|pcrid|101816981712|pkw||pmt||pdv|c|prd|10442456&cm_mmc=zadv_PLASearch-_-google-_-Priority-Products-2016-_-Storage-Craft-Organization&utm_source=google&utm_term=&utm_campaign=Priority-Products-2016&utm_medium=cpc&utm_content=smFhhTl0Z|pcrid|101816981712|pkw||pmt||pdv|c|prd|10442456&gclid=CjwKEAjwj6PKBRCAy9-07PeTtGgSJAC1P9xGfGKSHiTivd-I_0D_Xm3ST_04pImF-VmoOxB8Hg7jAhoCQADw_wcB

The Container store lazy susan:  https://www.containerstore.com/s/madesmart-white-lazy-susan/d?productId=10027812&q=lazy susan

The Container store letter sorter:  https://www.containerstore.com/s/letter-sorter/d?productId=10001509&q=letter sorter

Target media bin storage:  https://www.target.com/p/lined-media-bin-dark-brown-weave-threshold-153/-/A-14104459?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google_pla_df&CPNG=PLA_Storage+Organization+Shopping_Brand&adgroup=SC_Storage+Organization&LID=700000001170770pgs&network=g&device=c&location=9016845&gclid=CjwKEAjwj6PKBRCAy9-07PeTtGgSJAC1P9xGoJXEMvmhnAWXe1XscTrsAKcv-Ze_RwQaqpCA09WnPRoCcErw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

At Home rugs:  https://www.athome.com/d47-grey-and-white-moroccan-rug/M124067308.html#q=grey+rug&start=1

Hooker Furniture:  https://www.hookerfurniture.com/wendover-60-leg-desk/1037-11458-5/iteminformation.aspx

My hubby’s desk:  https://www.walmart.com/ip/The-Bedford-Executive-Desk/17641546

Ink pad storage:  https://www.organizemore.com

Leave a Reply

